Invitation | Hall of Fame Recipient | 2018 Finalists

The Utah CCIM Excellence Awards honors the best of the best and it is the premier commercial real estate event of the year.

Saturday, March 3, 2018

The Grand America Hotel, 555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City

5:00pm Cocktails | 6:30pm Dinner/Awards | 8:00pm Dessert Social


Self Parking Validation Included

Chair Ronda Landa, First American Title

CCIM President Josh Vance, Internet Properties

CCIM National Mission Statement

The CCIM Institute was built on a foundation that has remained solid for more than 40 years: The best teachers of commercial real estate investment principles are experienced and successful commercial real estate practitioners. By combining the best minds to develop and teach the industry's best practices, CCIM has helped thousands of students propel their careers and grow their businesses. Since 1954, CCIM has evolved into a global organization with more than 15,000 members.

PDF 71KB  

Click here to download 2018 Excellence Awards Invitation

Hall of Fame Recipient

Jim Sorenson

Sorenson Companies

Salt Lake City, UT – January 8, 2018 - The Utah Chapter of CCIM today announced that Jim Sorenson has been named the 2018 Excellence Awards Hall of Fame recipient. Held annually, the Excellence Awards honors professionals within Utah’s commercial real estate industry who exemplify the highest degree of business excellence. The event recognizes individuals spanning more than 14 specialties within the industry, the pinnacle award being the Hall of Fame, which highlights an institution or individual that has had a dramatic and valuable impact on the Utah commercial real estate market. The full list of award recipients will be announced at an event held at the Grand America Hotel on Saturday, March 3, 2017. This year’s event theme is “Time for Tech.”

As this year’s Hall of Fame recipient, Jim Sorenson of Sorenson Companies embodies the event’s theme of “Time for Tech.” Throughout his career, Jim helped develop several new industry categories in today’s business world, including digital video compression software, mass-market videophones, video relay service for deaf and hard-of- hearing individuals and environmental testing. Jim enjoys combining innovative and worthwhile ideas with talented management teams to produce growing new enterprises. This successful combination has produced thousands of new jobs and vibrant companies.  Read more ▾

Jim is also an advocate of education and has done a great deal throughout his career to enhance the local education system. In 2013, Jim provided the David Eccles School of Business at the University of Utah with a $13 million gift to create the Sorenson Impact Center, with the mission of cultivating impact investing expertise in students. To this day, he plays an active role in setting the Center’s direction and mentoring its student participants. Additionally, in 2001 Jim provided the seed money for the University Venture Fund (UVF) at the David Eccles School of Business. Now the world’s largest student-run educational investment fund, UVF provides unrivaled hands-on experience in venture capital and entrepreneurship for students.

“Jim Sorenson is a fascinating and brilliant individual who has had a significant impact not only on the local economic and business communities, but also those stretching beyond the borders of the United States,” noted Ronda Landa, Chair of the CCIM Utah Excellence Awards. “His philanthropic actions have helped establish initiatives that improve the lives of the working poor, help build regional business communities and train the next generation of entrepreneurial and investment leaders. It is an honor to present Jim as the 2018 CCIM Excellence Awards Hall of Fame award recipient.”

The CCIM Utah Excellence Awards Chair is Ronda Landa of First American Title, with Josh Vance from Internet Properties as the 2018 Chapter President. Big-D Construction is this year’s marquee event sponsor, and CBC Advisors is the platinum event sponsor. Four scholarships, funded by Price Real Estate, will also be awarded to University of Utah students at the event.

For more information about the Excellence Awards, visit: http://www.utahccimchapter.com/about-the-excellence-awards

Technology Award Recipient

Barbara Crane, CCIM

2018 CCIM Institute President Elect
2018 CCIM Foundation President

With the 2018 Excellence Awards Theme being “Time for Tech” the Utah CCIM Chapter is proud to announce that the CCIM Institute will be the recipient of the Technology Award. The Technology Award is being presented in order to recognize a firm whose efforts in the use of commercial real estate technology has been meaningful and impactful. The CCIM Institute will be presented with the Technology Award for developing and implementing technology for commercial real estate professionals such as Site to do Business, Esri powered demographics, tapestry segmentation, RealNex, Business Lists, Flood mapping and more.

Accepting the Technology Award on behalf of the CCIM Institute is the 2018 CCIM Institute President-Elect Barbara Crane. Barbara also serves as the President of CCIM Foundation, an affiliate of CCIM Institute that raises funds for scholarships, and as a CCIM Senior Instructor. In addition to her leadership positions with CCIM Institute and CCIM Foundation, she serves as the President of a commercial brokerage and consulting services company working on office properties of all types and being involved in office development and ownership, as well as servicing her long-term client, the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta.

2018 Recipients & Finalists in each category are:

Architectural Firm of the Year Award:

2018 Award Recipient

Jay Taggart, AIA
Curtis Miner Architecture


Brian Parker, AIA
MHTN Architects


David Giles, AIA
FFKR Architects

Community Banker of the Year Award (Under $75M):

2018 Award Recipient

Kelly Hale
Bank of Utah


Nick Sanchez
Zions Bank


Wendy Leonelli
Zions Bank

Contractor of the Year:

2018 Award Recipient

Rob Moore
Big-D Construction

Corporate Banker of the Year Award (Over $75M):

2018 Award Recipient

Flyn Dawson
Zions Bank


Devin Jolley
KeyBank Real Estate Capital

Industrial Broker of the Year Award:

2018 Award Recipient

Jeff Richards
CBRE, Inc.


Rusty Bollow, CCIM, MRED
Newmark Grubb Acres

Investment Broker of the Year Award:

2018 Award Recipient

Kip Paul
Cushman & Wakefield


Rawley Nielsen
CBC Advisors


Bryce Blanchard
Newmark Grubb ACRES


Eli Mills, CCIM

Mortgage Banker of the Year Award (Not a Direct Lender):

2018 Award Recipient

Johnny Clawson, CCIM
The Clawson Group


Colton Smith
Marcus & Millichap Capital Corporation


Doug Birrell
CBRE Debt & Structured Finance

Multi-Family Broker of the Year Award:

2018 Award Recipient

Daniel Shin
Marcus & Millichap


Greg Barratt


Mark Jensen
CBC Advisors

Office Broker of the Year Award:

2018 Award Recipient

Brandon Fugal
CBC Advisors


Chris Falk, CCIM, SIOR
Newmark Grubb ACRES


Jordan Wall
CBC Advisors

Property Manager of the Year Award:

2018 Award Recipient

Felicity Hatton-Ward
CBC Advisors

Real Estate Attorney of the Year Award:

2018 Award Recipient

Carl Barton
Holland & Hart LLP


Jessica Rancie
Kirton McConkie

Retail Broker of the Year Award:

2018 Award Recipient

Stuart Thain
CBC Advisors


Steve Bowler
CBC Advisors


Tim Simonsen
CBC Advisors

Rookie of the Year Award:

2018 Award Recipient

Josh Smith
CBC Advisors


Darren Nielsen
CBC Advisors


Tyler Roeller
Newmark Grubb Acres

Specialty Broker of the Year Award:

2018 Award Recipient

Vic Galanis


Nathanael Worthen
Newmark Grubb ACRES


Mary Street, CCIM
CBC Advisors

CCIM of the Year Award:

2018 Award Recipient

Brandon Duke, CCIM
KeyBank Real Estate Capital


Josh Vance, CCIM
Internet Properties


Randy Atkin, CCIM
CBC Advisors

2018 Price – CCIM Scholarship Recipients

From left to right: Christian Graf, Austin Atkin, Ashley Atkinson, Ashley Hadfield